Viva Colombia!

caballo

Motorbikes, metrocables, jungle highways, river rapids, toucans, giant insects, arepas, obleas con arequipe, and no ingles! Tab and I recently came back from visiting her family in Medellin, Colombia. While it would be impossible to share all of my experiences here (plus studies show that people can no longer tolerate more than 8 seconds of anything) I guess the two main things I took away from the trip were: (1) the vastness of this world in size, population and culture and (2) Gratitude for being born in the U.S. where almost everyone has almost everything and we forget it every damn day. All it takes is one piece of political news, seems like.

So not having had a guitar in my hands for 10 days, two things happened to me. First, I got a rush of songwriting creativity coming from a creative blank slate — 2018 album, anyone?! Second, when I played at Sheldon’s Cafe last weekend, my fingers were burning by the end of my three hour set. Hopefully the next time will be less painful. I actually have two shows there coming up!

@ Sheldon’s Service Station Cafe
8401 La Mesa Blvd La Mesa, CA 91942
Sun, April 2, 11:30am – 3:00pm
Featuring Chad Marks on percussion
AND
Sat, April 8, 4:30pm – 7:30pm
Featuring harmony vocals by Cadence Baron

More EZJ solo and full band shows are also in the works for late April and early May. Stay tuned!

Happiness,
Ezekiel

Leave a Reply

